The Colorado Benefits Management System (CBMS), PEAK, PEAKPro and mobile applications are currently down. We are aware of the issue and working to resolve it as quickly as possible. We will provide updates as soon as we have them.


Coloradans who are eligible for LEAP energy assistance are encouraged to apply by May 1

Hide Featured Image

DENVER (April 11, 2023) — May 1 is the last day to apply for Colorado’s Low-income Energy Assistance Program (LEAP), a program that helps to save eligible Colorado households money by paying a portion of winter home heating costs. All potentially eligible Coloradans are encouraged to submit their LEAP application by the May 1, 2023 deadline. 

A statewide program, LEAP helps keep Coloradans warm during the winter months by making a one-time payment directly to the utility company on behalf of each LEAP eligible household. Since Nov. 1, more than 125,000 Coloradans have applied for LEAP, a 16 percent increase over last season. Eligible households have received an average benefit of $441.

“With the recent reduction in SNAP benefits and the cost of heating up more than 35 percent over the last two winters, the choice between heating or eating is real for too many in our communities,” says Theresa Kullen, LEAP manager. “We encourage anyone who thinks they may be eligible for LEAP to apply.” 

To qualify for LEAP, Coloradans may have an income up to 60 percent of the state median income level, which equates to a household income of less than $66,468 a year for a family of four. Additionally, LEAP recipients must pay home heating costs directly to a utility company or landlord as part of their rent and have at least one U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident of the U.S. living in the household.

Currently, LEAP recipients may also qualify  for the Low-Income Household Water Assistance Program (LIHWAP), which is a temporary program that is part of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA). LIHWAP provides funds to make a one-time payment to the water vendor directly on behalf of eligible households who are facing eviction due to unpaid water bills or whose account is either in arrears or shut off as long as funding is available and the water vendor is a LIHWAP participant. 

To access the LEAP application, visit Online applications are processed through the Colorado PEAK system. You can also call the Heat Help line at 1-866-HEAT-HELP (1-866-432-8435) to receive an application via mail or email or visit your county human services office to pick up or drop off an application. 

Media contact:
John Rosa, Communications Manager