Sustained Permanency Project Exploratory Committee

Nearly one in five children currently in care was in out-of-home care previously. A significant number of families are fractured and re-fractured when children come in and out of foster care. Stable and nurturing families can bolster the resilience of children and ameliorate negative impacts on their developmental outcomes, which, in time, can ensure these children will grow to be healthy, contributing members of society. These protective factors cannot be nurtured sufficiently with the instability and re-traumatization that accompanies re-entry into foster care. To improve Colorado practice, the CDHS Division of Child Welfare is partnering with county departments, Casey Family Programs, National Implementation Research Network and Eckerd to launch the “Sustained Permanency Project.”

The purpose of the Sustained Permanency Project Exploratory Committee is to develop a “Terms of Reference,” a documented memorandum of understanding that carefully outlines the vision and purpose of the group, the scope of work and deliverables for which the group will be held accountable, roles and responsibilities for all members, communication protocols, operational processes, and decision-making authority. It is anticipated that a major activity of the exploration team will be to support the development of a theory of change that outlines the goals, assumptions, risks and benefits, core activities, and expected outcomes of a predictive analytics practice model. The theory of change will guide the development of specific practices and evolve over subsequent phases of testing, feedback and revisions. The exploration team is expected to meet twice a month for six months. 

Join the Office of Children, Youth and Families community partners list to receive a notification when this page is updated.  


Agendas and Minutes
Name Role
Samantha Brown Community Team Member
Leah Bartley National Implementation Research Network Team Member
Lama Kahalil Haider National Implementation Research Network Team Member
Allison Mtez National Implementation Research Network Team Member
Bryan Lindert Eckerd Team Lead
Amanda Farely National Implementation Research Network Team Member
Dale Cusumano National Implementation Research Network Team Member
Michael Terranova Family Tree Representative
Lee Hodge Pueblo County Deputy Director
Jeremy Sawyer Adams County Representative
Trevor Williams DCW Youth Representative
Heather Drake Adams County Representative
Mollie Warren Denver County Representative
Jill Crewes Adoption Exchange Representative
Jeff Romero CDW Training Representative
Kristin Melton DCW Team Member
Michael Stumph Fremont County Representative
Lexie Kuznick CHSDA Representative
Jan James Adams County Child Welfare Director
Chris McNeal Douglas County Representative
Roxanne Sabin Jeffco Representative
Tia Whitaker ARD Representative
Heather Walker Weld County Child Welfare Director
Sharon Longhurst Pritt Garfield County Representative
Derek Dzien DCW Representative
Melisa Maling Boulder County Representative
Marc Winokur CSU Representative
Carrie Porter Fremont County Representative
Crystal Allen Casey Family Programs
Tim Young Jeffco Representative