Mount View Youth Services Center

7862 West Mansfield Pkwy.
Denver, CO80235

(303) 987-4525

Mount View Youth Services Center (MVYSC) is a secure, co-ed multi-purpose youth center operated by the CDHS Division of Youth Services (DYS). MVYSC is located in unincorporated Southeastern Jefferson County and provides detention services for the First and Fifth Judicial Districts, Diagnostic/Assessment services for sixteen Judicial Districts along the Colorado Front-Range, a secure transportation unit that supports the assessment function, and the Next Step program for youth who have returned to secure committed care due to unsafe behaviors and increased risk while in the community either in a non-secure placement or on juvenile parole. The 16 Judicial Districts served by the Mount View Assessment unit encompass 46 Counties: Gilpin, Jefferson, Denver, Clear Creek, Eagle, Lake, Summit, Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert, Lincoln, Jackson, Larimer, Boulder, Weld, Broomfield, Adams, Logan, Morgan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma, Kit Carson, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Prowers, Baca, Bent, Otero, Crowley, Las Animas, Huerfano, Pueblo, El Paso, Teller, Park, Chafee, Fremont, Custer, Saguache, Mineral, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Conejos and Costilla County.

Mount View's behavior management program, P.E.A.K., is applicable to all detained and committed youth. P.E.A.K. stands for Participate Safety, Express Care and Respect, Accept Accountability, and Know and Use Your Skills. The program embraces the eight Evidence Based Principles adopted by DYS. The program focuses on behavior, goal setting, strengths, teaching skills and the use of positive reinforcement through a level system. In addition, the youth center utilizes a number of evidence-based curriculums for detained and committed youth, including the Getting Motivated for Change, Brainwise and Skillstreaming the Adolescent.

MVYSC is home to the Front-Range Assessment Unit for youth committed to DYS. The DYS assessment process relies upon evidenced-based assessment tools such as the Colorado Juvenile Risk Assessment (CJRA) to develop recommendations that address the risk and protective factors. The focus on risk and protective factors is a primary strategy to aid youth in addressing his or her criminal behaviors with the overall goal of reducing recidivism. Assessment results are reviewed by each youth's multi-disciplinary team (MDT). The team includes the family/natural supports, youth, the client manager, line staff, assessment specialists and others deemed appropriate. Masters level clinicians are available to provide individual and group counseling as well as crisis management to youth progressing through the assessment process or awaiting a placement into a treatment program. Mount View also provides a Family Orientation Group for families/natural supports who have a child committed to DYS.

Educational services are available to all youth in residential placement with DYS. Jefferson County Public Schools provides an on-site education program that serves the detention population. DYS employs licensed teachers to educate committed youth. The school programs provide special education services to those who require individual educational plans. Jefferson County and DYS offer social studies, math, language arts, science, elective classes and recreation. Youth are able to work toward a high school diploma or obtain a GED. They may also be involved in a vocational program such as food service. Selected youth may participate in two work programs, food services and grounds crew.

Youth residing at Mount View are provided the opportunity to receive weekly religious, medical, counseling, psychoeducational groups, mental health and psychiatric services. Youth are also involved in Restorative Community Justice (RCJ) projects, which allow them to examine and repair harm that they have caused to the community.

The detention population receives clinical services from the Jefferson Center for Mental Health (JCMH). JCMH Clinicians provide individual and group counseling as well as 24-hour support in crisis situations. The committed population receives clinical services from State clinicians and Youth Service Counselors.

MVYSC also runs the Statewide Transportation unit. This unit is responsible for transporting newly committed youth from the Southern and Northeast Region's receiving centers to the Assessment Unit at Mount View.

Mount View and its 22 acres allows youth many opportunities to participate in outdoor recreational activities including a ropes course, frisbee golf, soccer, kickball, basketball, volleyball and gardening. Healthy pro-social activities such as these not only help facilitate change during a youth's stay at Mount View, they provide a positive alternative to negative choices.

Youth Served

  • Age range 10-20 years old
  • Male and female population
Family Information
Youth Handbook, Educational Testing & Voting Rights
Visitation

Visitation is an avenue to build and maintain healthy family and community relationships. Families of youth in the care of DYS are encouraged to visit the facility. All visits require a scheduled appointment. You can request visitation by contacting the Mount View Control Center at 303.987.4502.

Visitation Hours

Mount View YSC Visitation Frequency & Hours

Contact & Directions

Contact

Mount View Youth Services Center

Maricela Shull, Director (303) 987-4554 Maricela.Shull@state.co.us
Humberto Garza, Assistant Director (303) 987-4647 Humberto.Garza@state.co.us
Melinda Christy, Assistant Director (303) 987-4597 Melinda.Christy@state.co.us
Lynn Coleman, Clinical Director (303) 987-4591 Lynn.Coleman@state.co.us
Marcelle Irvine, Principal (303) 987-4574 marcelle.irvine@state.co.us
Jason Vastola, Program Assistant for Education Services (303) 987-4565 Jason.Vastola@state.co.us
Rose Santistevan, Program Assistant (303) 987-4576 Rose.Santistevan@state.co.us
Sharon Brietweiser, Program Assistant (303) 987-4544 Sharon.Breitweiser@state.co.us
Lindsay Selover, DYS Transportation Supervisor (303) 987-4566 Lindsay.Selover@state.co.us
Dr. Christopher Lee, Jefferson County School District Principal (303) 987-4578 Christopher.j.Lee@state.co.us
Terry Lacono, Jefferson County School District Secretary (303) 987-4575  
Control (303) 987-4525  
Fax (303) 987-4538  

Front Range Assessment at Mt. View Youth Services Center

Jennifer Leonard, Assessment Program Manager (303) 987-4586 Jennifer.Leonard@state.co.us
Debbie Smart, Assessment Program Assistant (303) 987-4639 Debra.Smart@state.co.us
Melissa Campe (303) 987-4560 Melissa.Campe@state.co.us
Melissa Gamet (303) 987-4651 Melissa.Gamet@state.co.us
Richard Champion (303) 987-4531 Richard.Champion@state.co.us
Jessica Eden (303) 987-4523 Jessica.Eden@state.co.us
Christine Tyler (303) 987-4561 Christine.Tyler@state.co.us
Lora Kopp-Mahluza (303) 987-4524 Lora.Kopp-Mahluza@state.co.us
Dana Marquez, Legal Specialist (303) 987-4601 Dana.Marquez@state.co.us
Jenny Agbortogho, Psychologist (303) 987-4540 Jenny.Agbortogho@state.co.us
Marisa Black, Psychologist (303) 987-4562 Marisa.Black@state.co.us
Fax (303) 987-4632  

Directions

For Bus Route information please visit: https://rtd-denver.com/

7862 West Mansfield Pkwy.
Denver, CO80235

The Office of Colorado’s Child Protection Ombudsman - Phone Number: 720-625-8640, 1-866-276-8646 (toll-free number) - The Office of Colorado’s Child Protection Ombudsman helps youth and families address concerns about youth experiences and treatment while living in the Division of Youth Services (DYS) youth centers. The CPO is an independent state agency that investigates complaints and grievances about the Division of Youth Services and provides free and confidential assistance to anyone who calls.