Nurses can earn $7,000 to $14,000 hiring bonuses at our health care facilities! Apply today!


Colorado Youth Detention Continuum (CYDC) Advisory Board and Interstate Compact for Juveniles State Council

The CYDC and Interstate Commission Working Group originates from Colorado Revised Statutes 19-2- 212 and 24-60-702. This board includes representation from many agencies that work in the juvenile justice system throughout the state. The Advisory Board is directed to complete Legislative Directives to include a review and recommend on an annual basis a set of criteria for both detention and commitment for the purposes of determining which juvenile offenders are appropriate for placement in the physical or legal custody of the Department of Human Services and to review and recommend on an annual basis the formula for the purposes of allocating juvenile services funds to each judicial district. The board facilitates the development of plans for community-based detention services by local Juvenile Services Planning Committees. Individual plans will be reviewed by the State Advisory Board prior to the start of each fiscal year.

In accordance with C.R.S 19-2-402.5, the board submits recommendations concerning the configuration of the detention catchment areas annually to the Director of Youth Services for transmittal to the Executive Director of the Department of Human Services and the State Court Administrator. In accordance with C.R.S 19-2-1202, the board allocates the number of juvenile detention beds to each catchment area and judicial district annually. They develop a mechanism for loaning beds between judicial districts. They develop emergency release guidelines that shall be used by each judicial district and develop juvenile detention placement guidelines for use by each judicial district. In addition, they oversee the state's participation in Interstate Commission activities, including the development of policy concerning operations and procedures of the compact within the state. The advisory board meets quarterly and meetings are held in accordance with the Colorado open meetings law.

C.R.S. 24-60-702 Article X, each state shall create a Council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision. Its membership must include at least one representative from the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of government, victims groups, and the compact administrator, deputy compact administrator, or designee. Each state council will advise and may exercise oversight and advocacy concerning that state's participation in Interstate Commission activities, including the development of policy concerning operations and procedures of the compact within that state.

CYDC/Interstate Compact Advisory Board Seeking Members

The Colorado Youth Detention Continuum (CYDC)/Interstate Compact Advisory Board is seeking members for our current vacant positions. Candidates must be a Colorado resident. Appointments to the Board are made by the CDHS Director and are for a three-year term.

Board members meet quarterly for up to 8 hours per meeting. Meetings are held in person at various locations. Members are also expected to participate in Plan Reviews which are held annually (usually in March). Members are expected to attend 75% of the quarterly meetings.

DYS is committed to diversity and inclusion of the voices of communities of color reflective of our youth population and encourages all interested to apply for consideration. Board members serve without compensation and may not be employed by the Department of Human Services or the Division of Youth Services.

For details on how to apply, please contact Matt Friesen ( 303.866.7334). Candidates are also welcome to apply
directly here:

Current vacancies are:

  • Person (family member) affected by incarceration
  • Youth affected by incarceration (previously or currently incarcerated)
  • Law Enforcement Rep
  • County Sheriff Association Rep
  • Education Representative
  • Juvenile Services Planning Committee (JSPC) Representative


Name Representative
Kelly Abbott OAJJA Manager
Amy Bishop CYDC 17th JD Ed Advocate
Sara Boylan CYDC 20th JD Coordinator
Stacie Colling Juvenile Defense Coordinator
Katie Hecker Youth Justice Attorney
Kelly Friesen CYDC 14th JD Coordinator
Audrey Galloway District Court Magistrate
Priscilla Gartner Public Defender
Rebecca Gleason 18th JD Chief Deputy Attorney
Bill Gurule Chief Probation Officer
Tom Harbaugh Probation Analyst II
Kim Howard 2nd JD Chief Probation Officer
Anders Jacobson DYS Director
Catania Jones Director of Children, Youth and Family Services
Kira Jukes CYDC 2nd JD Coordinator
Joe Kellerby Director of Children, Youth and Family Services
Kelly Kissell Manager Office for Victims Programs
Brie Knight Director of Children, Youth and Family Services
Elise Logeman DPS & ACLU Attorney
Elizabeth McCarthy Magistrate
Christine Meyer SOC Project Director
Jessica Perrill Assistant Attorney General
Andrew Prehm Bureau Chief
Tim Read Commander
Gretchen Russo Judicial/Legislative Administrator.