Colorado Foster Youth Successful Transition to Adulthood Grant Program Advisory Board

House Bill 21-1094 Foster Youth in Transition Program was signed into law on June 25, 2021, and is effective immediately. Part of the bill creates the Foster Youth Successful Transition to Adulthood grant program, which requires the implementation of an advisory committee. The state department shall convene an advisory board to review the state grant program and provide recommendations to the state department on the following items:

  • Implementation of the state grant program;
  • Funding models and allocation methodologies, including consultation with the advisory board before the state department allocates funding received through the federal John H. Chafee Foster Care Program for Successful Transition to Adulthood (42 U.S.C. Sec. 677) for the grant program;
  • Content for grant program applications; and
  • Scoring methodology for grant program application review. 

Agendas and Minutes
Name Organization/program Role
Kuiana Askew Project Foster Power Youth Member
Derek Blake CDHS Chafee administrator
Kippi Clausen Rural Collaborative RHY director or designee
Courtney Dougherty El Paso County DHS CW director or designee
  TBD CDHE designee
Clayton Gonzales Urban Peak RHY director or designee
Kristina Harris   Youth Member
Carie Harrison Oak Tree Resources RHY director or designee
Shawna Kemppainen The Place RHY director or designee
Rachel Levy-Culler CASA NA
Heather Powell Denver County DHS CW director or designee
Michael "Mick" Stumph Fremont County DHS CW director or designee
Lee Wheeler-Berliner CDLE CDLE designee
Alisiana Medina DIRFC Youth Member
HB 21-1094 Youth in Transition Program Bill